CJKarl

ISO Yakima or Thule Rack Expert

My dream of upgrading my kayak racks has quickly turned in to a mounting nightmare.  I need to mount a Yakima round bar or Thule square bar to the stock raised roof rack on my 1999 Honda Odyssey. I've been to 3 "dealers" and all they can do is sell me  $3-400 brand new set up. If I can find the proper part # I can find some older stuff on eBay.

The Yakima configuration website is a joke.  I'm about ready to put the 4 J-mounts back on CL and just shadetree engineer a more robust clamping system for my JobLot J-racks I've been using for the last 4 years.

Edited by CJKarl

Ugh, that sucks! Is there an odyssey group on f***book? I know Thule is pretty good at putting part numbers on each piece so you can get them on Amazon. I broke a part once and the dealers were zero help till I was frigging around with it years later and saw a number so I typed it into google and BAM $4 later I was repaired.

Check on Yakima racks.... I bought some Yakima J racks that clamped onto the factory cross bars.... they worked really well and were easy on/off. Look up the model you need on the Yakima site and check Amazon, they had them for better $$$.

Think I found a set on ebay. PRETTY sure they will fit my car. I finally found a cross reference sheet that a private party had posted. Yeah, may have been off a forum. Didn't think to check out the Ody forums. I know there are many. Guy wants $39.99, I offered him $25 because I'm taking a slight risk they won't fit and although I can return them, after shipping it would be a waste of $$.

Remember, it's not a Minivan....it's a Manlyvan!

4 minutes ago, Jon W said:

Check on Yakima racks.... I bought some Yakima J racks that clamped onto the factory cross bars.... they worked really well and were easy on/off. Look up the model you need on the Yakima site and check Amazon, they had them for better $$$.